Pacific Soaring Council Inc., Logo

2018 Region 11 Soaring Awards

2018 Awards

Here are the 2018 Award Winners. View the 2018 Award Presentation file. (PDF)

These PASCO members won PASCO Awards for their contribution to soaring or their soaring achievement.

Specific award page links on the left have a complete list of all the previous winners.


Sergio Mentoring Award - NEW starting in 2018

  1. New perpetual trophy
  2. Will be awarded annually based on number of nominations. The pilot received the highest number of nominations will win the award.
  3. Mentoring is not limited to mentoring flights. Any type of mentoring will be considered

Sergio Colacevich

For initiating TASMA (Truckee Airport Soaring Mentorship Academy) and mentoring many pilots in his Duo Discus, and for life long of mentoring pilots and other initiatives.

2018 - For the Love of it!
(and the Bragging Rights!)


No attempts made


OLC R11 Champion

(best 6 flts)

1st - Keith Essex
2nd – Jim Payne
3rd – Ramy Yanetz

7037 pts

OLC R11 - All Flights

Ramy Yanetz

25462 pts

OLC R11 - Speed Champion

Keith Essex

1020 pts

OLC R11 – Longest flight

Jim Payne (Minden)

1885 km

Most Improved XC Pilot

Ben Hirashima

Prior longest flight 260km
2018 longest flight 513km

Region 11 Service Safety Award - 2018

Region 11 Safety


Region 11 Contest Results - 2018

Region 11 Sports

n/a, only Truckee FAI

Region 11 Combined FAI - Truckee

1 - David Greenhill

2 - Peter Deane

3 - Hal Woodruff

Air Sailing

Sports Class

1- Aland Adams

2- Matt Heron JR

3- Kerry Richards

PASCO Distance Awards - 2018

Longest Distance

Up to 3TP

David Greenhill

Truckee to Olancha, Reno, Independence, Truckee

877 SM
(OLC 1573 km)

Longest Out & Return

Bill Gawthrop
Truckee to south of Olancha and return
July 2nd 2018

495 SM
(OLC 1005 KM)

Longest Straight Out #1


Pilot: Ramy Yanetz
Crew: Katia Yanetz

Hollister to Santa Ynez

179 SM

Longest Straight Out #2

Pilot: Ramy Yanetz
Crew: Katia Yanetz

Santa Ynez to Byron

248 SM

Longest Silver Distance

Thomas Greenhill

237 SM

Sawyer Award - 2018

Sawyer Award

Zach Yamauchi

25372 pts

Les Arnold Award - 2018

Kempton Izuno

For many years of XC mentoring in his personal glider and other contributions, such as organizing XC camps at Tonopah, and support of the soaring community with presentations and forecasts alerts.

Exceptional Service to Soaring Award - 2018

Thomas Greenhill

For his support and actions taken to promote cross country mentoring, promote youth soaring, and organizing the Youth Soaring event at Avenal.

Records Granted or Claimed - 2018

World Open Class singleplace 500km O&R speed:

255 km/h– Keith Essex

World Open class multiplace Absolute Altitude

22, 646 m– Jim Payne and Tim Gardner

(74,298 Feet)


Hollister League Award - 2018

Longest flight from Hollister




The Pacific Soaring Council (PASCO) presents two kinds of annual awards:

  • Flight Awards
  • Merit / Recognition Awards.

Description of Awards ->


Top of Page