Pacific Soaring Council Inc., Logo

2017 Region 11 Soaring Awards

2017 Awards

Here are the 2017 Award Winners. View the 2017 Award Presentation file. (PDF)

These PASCO members won PASCO Awards for their contribution to soaring or their soaring achievement.

Specific award page links on the left have a complete list of all the previous winners.


2017 - For the Love of it!
(and the Bragging Rights!)


No attempts made


OLC R11 Champion

(best 6 flts)

1st-Keith Essex

7601 pts


OLC R11 - All Flights


30116 pts

OLC R11 - Speed Champion

Keith Essex

1011 pts

OLC R11 – BHC Champion

Walt Rogers

906 pts
750km triangle

Most Improved XC Pilot

Thomas Green Hill

2016 longest
flight: 0 km

2017 longest
flight: 573 km

Most Rides Given



Most Commercial
Rides Given

1st: Stefan Valentin (Minden)

93 rides

2nd: Ben Mayes (Williams)

78 rides

3rd: Rex Mayes (Williams)

20 rides

Region 11 Service Safety Award - 2017



Region 11 Contest Results - 2017

Region 11 Sports


Region 11 Combined FAI - Truckee

1 - Gary Ittner

2 - Luke Ashcraft

3 - Jonathan Fitch

Air Sailing

Sports Class

1- Jackson / Lee

2 - Aland Adams

3 - Kerry Richards

Avenal Spring Contest


PASCO Distance Awards - 2017

Longest Distance

Up to 3TP

Uwe Kleinhempel

Ely to Idaho to N of Austin to S of Ely

613 sm

OLC 1007 km

Longest Out & Return

Morgan Hall

Tonopah to Idaho
(Jackpot area)

595 sm

OLC 1006 km

Longest Straight Out #1

( 2 gliders on same flight path)

Pilot: David Anisman

Crew: Noy, Hadas, Oz Anisman

Truckee, CA to Bend, OR

356 sm

570 km

Longest Straight Out #2

( 2 gliders on same flight path)

Pilot: Matt Gillis

Crew: Danica Vocansek-Cerne

Truckee, CA to Bend, OR

356 sm

570 km

Longest Silver Distance

Philip Lee

133 sm

Sawyer Award - 2017

Sawyer Award

Thomas Greenhill

19,064 points

Les Arnold Award - 2017

Awarded for many years of service to the local soaring community: Instructor at NCSA, Thermal Camps at ASI, and more recently serving as Mr Truckee, shepherding the organization into its' present incarnation as TTSA.

Richard Pearl

Exceptional Service to Soaring Award - 2017

Region 11 RASP providers

Valentin Mayamsin
Ace Lewis
Bart Klusek
Dmitry Chichkov

SSA Exceptional Service Award - 2017

Awarded by Jay McDaniel, Region 11 SSA Director for Excepton Service for support of the Perlan Project's requirements for tracking altitude records.

Todd Walter

Duncan Eddy

Records Granted or Claimed - 2017

National Open Class singleplace

Keith Essex

1000 km triangle

speed: 97.74 mph

World Open class multiplace Absolute Altitude

Jim Payne and Morgan Sandercock

52,171 ft

World Open class multiplace Altitude Gain:

Jim Payne and Morgan Sandercock

41,804 ft


Hollister League Award - 2017

Longest flight from Hollister




The Pacific Soaring Council (PASCO) presents two kinds of annual awards:

  • Flight Awards
  • Merit / Recognition Awards.

Description of Awards ->


Top of Page